© 2024 NPR Illinois
The Capital's Community & News Service
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

For Illinois Presidential Primary, 16 Candidates File To Appear On Ballot

Seven Democratic candidates at the beginning of the PBS-Politico debate in December
PBS Newshour
All the Democratic candidates on stage for the most recent debate filed paperwork to appear on the ballot in Illinois, as did six candidates who didn't make the debate cut.

Friday was the deadline for major party presidential candidates to try to get on the ballot for Illinois’ upcoming primary election.

The State Board of Elections accepted petitions from 16 candidates during the two-day filing period.

First in line was a representative of President Donald Trump.

So far the Republican has two opponents: a Wisconsin man named John Schiess , whose platform includes getting the U.S. out of the U.N.; and California businessman Rocky de la Fuente, who has mounted numerous campaigns in the past.

Meanwhile, the Democratic primary field has 13 people, including everyone on stage for the most recent debate.

Alphabetically, they are: Joe Biden, Pete Buttigieg, Amy Klobuchar, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren, and Andrew Yang.

Other candidates filing as Democrats are Michael Bennet, Mike Bloomberg, Cory Booker, John Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, and Deval Patrick.

This, however, is not the end of the story. Next week comes an opportunity for petition challenges, where candidates can try to get their opponents knocked off the ballot.

The Illinois primary is scheduled for March 17.

The filing period that ended Friday was for “establishes parties” under Illinois law, which presently include only the Republican and Democratic parties. Independent candidates and those representing other parties will file later this year.

Brian Mackey formerly reported on state government and politics for NPR Illinois and a dozen other public radio stations across the state. Before that, he was A&E editor at The State Journal-Register and Statehouse bureau chief for the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin.
Related Stories