© 2024 NPR Illinois
The Capital's Community & News Service
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rauner Transition Team Includes Bill Daley


Governor-elect Bruce Rauner is naming a transition team of advisers that includes former White House chief of staff Bill Daley, a Democrat.  
It also includes former Gov. Jim Edgar, Republican Congressman Aaron Schock and former Southern Illinois University President Glenn Poshard, another Democrat.  

The Republican venture capitalist ousted Democratic Gov. Pat Quinn in a close contest this week.  

A Thursday news release says he's naming more than two dozen individuals to the team, including the Rev. James Meeks from Chicago and Doug Oberhelman, the CEO of Caterpillar Inc.  

Rauner named his running mate, Lt governor-elect Evelyn Sanguinetti, to head the team. They'll help the transition into office on a range of issues.  

Rauner says he's chosen from a ``broad range'' of community, business, faith and political leaders. 

Selected Member Biographies of the Transition Team
*Titles and Associations are for Identification Purposes Only*

Governor Jim Edgar

Bill Daley – Managing Partner and head of U.S. operations, Argentiere Capital LP, former White House Chief of Staff

Glenn Poshard – Former President, Southern Illinois University; former U.S. Congressman

Rev. James Meeks – Founder and Senior Pastor, Salem Baptist Church of Chicago; former Illinois State Senator

Manny Sanchez – Founder and Managing Partner, Sanchez Daniels & Hoffman LLP; Co-Chair, Latinos for Obama

Doug Oberhelman – CEO and Chairman, Caterpillar Inc.

State Representative Jill Tracy – 94th District, Illinois House of Representatives

Ron Huberman – Operating Executive, Prairie Capital; former Superintendent and CEO, Chicago Public Schools

Phyllis Wise – Chancellor, University of Illinois

Jim Alexander – President, Illinois State Police Command Officer’s Association (ISPCOA)

Congressman Aaron Schock – Representative, 18th Congressional District of Illinois

Arabel Alva Rosales – President, AAR & Assocs., LTD.Ron Gidwitz – Partner, GCG Partners

John Gates – Chairman and CEO, PortaeCo, LLC.

Pastor Corey Brooks – Founder, New Beginnings Church of Chicago

Rob Funderburg – Chairman and owner, Alpine Bank

Mark Cozzi- Managing Partner, Lincoln Park Capital Group

Tony Anderson – Retired Vice Chairman and Midwest Managing, Partner Ernst & Young

Sarah Frey-Talley – President, CEO Frey Farms

Gloria Cardenas Cudia – President and Founder, Salsa Business Network

Jim Schultz – Founder of Open Prairie and Managing Director of Open Prairie Ventures I and II

Dr. Willie Wilson – Chairman, Chicago Baptist Institute International (CBII)

Eleni Bousis – Board Chair for the Greek American Rehabilitation and Care Centre, Entrepreneur of Frontida (CARE) Institution supporting and assisting women and families in need and Board Member for Leadership 100 and the Little City Foundation.

Ryan Ruskin- President and COO, Ruskin Group

Beth Christie – Founder and CEO, Avent America

Ed McMillan – Principal and CEO, McMillan L.L.C

Andrea Brown – Member of the Illinois State Board of Education, former Regional Superintendent, teacher and administrator

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.
Related Stories