© 2023 NPR Illinois
The Capital's NPR Network 'News & Community' Service
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Pre-K Teacher Named Educator Of The Year

Horace Mann

Dee Dee Duffy has been teaching in District 186 for 25 years.  Monday she was honored as the 2014 Horace Mann Educator of the Year.  Duffy is an Early Start Pre-Kindergarten teacher at the Early Learning Center. 

Also, Nichole Heyen, principal of Lincoln Magnet Middle School, was named Administrator of the Year. She's been in District 186 for 14 years.

Both were honored at a luncheon ceremony. 

The program has been in existence since 1998.  An independent panel makes the selections. 

Credit Horace Mann
Nichole Heyen

According to Horace Mann. finalists for 2014 Educator of the Year included Claire Benoit, Owen Marsh Elementary; Leslie Poppenhouse, Owen Marsh Elementary; Mary Tennant, Black Hawk Elementary and Harvard Park Elementary; and Barbara Thompson, Iles Elementary.

Administrator of the Year finalists were Jill Grove, principal of the Early Learning Center; and Jason Wind, principal of Southeast High School. 

The Rising Star award was given to two promising teachers who have been with the district four years or less. The 2014 Rising Star recipients are: Lauren Harmon of Harvard Park Elementary School and Darien Orr of Lindsay Elementary School. 

Related Stories