Reps Bourne, Wojcicki Jimenez Win Primaries

Mar 16, 2016

Rep. Avery Bourne

Two recently appointed state representatives held off primary challenges Tuesday night.

Rep. Avery Bourne of the 95th District was appointed last year, replacing Rep. Wayne Rosenthal.  Bourne defeated a pair of challengers, Dennis Scobbie and Christopher Hicks.  Bourne wound up with 60 percent of the vote.

Rep. Wojcicki Jimenez

In the 99th House District, another recent appointee Sara Wojcicki Jimenez defeated Kent Gray.  Wojcicki Jimenez garnered 65 percent of the vote.  She will face Democrat Tony DelGiorno, who serves on the Sangamon County Board. 

Congressmen Rodney Davis and John Shimkus, both Republicans, als0 won.